Honorary Members

From time to time The Mathematical Association awards Honorary Memberships.  This category of membership is awarded only by the Council.  It might be conferred on any person who has made a distinguished contribution to mathematical education or who has provided outstanding service to the Association.  

Current Honorary Members

  1. Dr Toni Beardon, awarded in 2021

  2. Dr David Acheson, awarded in 2021 (Past President in 2010)

  3. Mrs Jane Jones, awarded in 2021

  4. Dr Nira Chamberlain, awarded in 2020

  5. Professor Julia Gog, awarded in 2020

  6. Professor Adam Clark McBride OBE, awarded in 2018 (Past President in 2004)

  7. Professor Hugh Burkhardt, awarded in 2017

  8. Dr Simon Lehna Singh, awarded in 2016

  9. Professor Dame Celia Hoyles, awarded in 2016

  10. Professor Ian Nicholas Stewart, awarded in 2014

  11. Professor Margaret L Brown, awarded in 2009 (Past President in 1990)

  12. Professor A Geoffrey Howson, awarded in 2002 (Past President 1988)

  13. Professor Sir Bryan Thwaites, awarded 1972 AGM

  14. Mr Anthony John Richard Purssell, 1971 AGM

Past Honorary Members

We began awarding Honorary Memberships in 1882, a full list of the recipients can be viewed here.