The MA is run by members for members from its headquarters in Leicester and is managed by a Council of around 19 MA members. Its aim is to conduct the business of the Association in accordance with the Memorandum of Association and the Articles of Association. The Council consists of the President, the Immediate Past President, the President Designate, the Chair of Council, the Secretary, the Treasurer, the chair of each of the Committees listed below and five members without office.


President: Professor Mike Askew (2018-2019)
Immediate Past President: Mr Tom Roper (2017-2018)
President Designate:  Ems Lord (2019-2020)

Past Presidents

Presidential Addresses

2011-2012 Paul Andrews

2012-2013 Marcus Du Sautoy

2013-2014 Peter Ransom


Chair: Peter Ransom
Secretary: Jennie Golding
Treasurer: David Miles

Minuting Secretary: Carol Mackerness

Standing Committee of Council


The Standing Committee has the power to act on behalf of the Association except in such matters as are reserved to the Directors, the Council or a General Meeting, and it shall report any such action to the Council not later than its next meeting. The Company Secretary, if not already a member of the Committee, will attend meetings but will have no voting rights.

Chair: Peter Ransom
Secretary: Jennie Golding
Treasurer: David Miles

President: Mike Askew (2018-2019)
Immediate Past President:  Tom Roper (2017-2018)
Member-without-Office:  Dave Pountney

Company Secretary: Bill Richardson

Minuting Secretary: Marcia Murray

Branches Committee

The Committee exists to encourage and support the activities of the Branches. For details of MA branches, visit the Branches section.

For more information about Branches Committee please contact its Chair.

Chair: Keith Cadman

Vice Chair: Rob Smith (East Midlands)

Secretary: Paul Harris (Sussex)

Treasurer: Cindy Hamill (Yorkshire)

Youth Activities: David Myers (Durham)

Teaching Committee


  • to keep under review matters concerning the teaching and learning of mathematics and to address matters of potential future importance;

  • to advise the Council on response and representation by the Association to outside bodies on matters which affect the teaching and learning of mathematics;

  • to initiate, in collaboration with other Committees of the Association, the dissemination of its findings through publications, conferences, meetings and other appropriate means.

Teaching Committee has three sub-committees:
Primary (joint with ATM) - Chair: Alison Borthwick
Secondary 11-16 - Joint Chair: Steve Edwards and Oliver Thompson
Post 16 - Joint Chair: Anne Baker and Jenny Orton


Chair: Mel Muldowney (Just Maths)  @Just_Maths

Secretary: Rob Smith (South Wigston High School, Leicestershire) @RJS2212

Treasurer: Jim Simons (Maths Tutor)

Elected Members

Anne Baker (Conyers School, Yarm)

Emma Bell (Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education) @El_Timbre

Alison Borthwick (NRICH primary coordinator / maths consultant. Chair TC Primary subcommittee) @easternmaths
Susan Childs (Ashford School, Ashford)

Simon Cox (St Mary's Catholic Academy, Blackpool) @MathsMrCox
David Miles (MA Treasurer)
Alison Parish (Independent Maths Consultant)
Dr Chris Pritchard (MA Secretary)
Peter Ransom (Chair MA Council)

Tom Roper (MA President 2017-2018)

Dean Rowley (Kesgrave High School, Ipswich)

Julia Smith (Teacher/Trainer/Author) @tessmaths

Oliver Thompson (Co-chair 11-16 TC subcommittee)

Advisory Group
Jennie Golding (MA Immediate Past President, Institute of Education, London)
Lynne McClure (MA Past President, Cambridge Maths Director )
Peter Thomas (Hills Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge)


Editor-in-Chief: Bill Richardson

The Board manages the publication of the Association's journals.

Conference Committee

Chair: Cherri Moseley

The Committee organises the Annual Conference and other conferences.

Professional Development Committee

The committee exists to promote the professional development of teachers of mathematics.

In addition to the annual Mathematics Association Conference, we organise two annual one-day conferences, at Stirling for all secondary mathematics teachers and High Wycombe which has a primary focus. We work with a range of other partners to provide regional professional development opportunities. We can support other organisations such as the Maths Hubs with a list of recommended speakers and workshop leaders.


Chair: Sue Southward

Alison Clark-Wilson
Doug Hainline
Ray Huntley
Jane Imrie
Jo Lees
Gerry Leversha
Peter Ransom
Bill Richardson
Fran Watson

For more information about Professional Development Committee please contact its Chair on

Publications Committee

Chair acting: Bill Richardson

The Committee manages the publications of the Association.

Membership Committee

The Committee exists to promote membership of the Association.

Chair: Julia Brown

Publicity and Media Committee

The aim of the Publicity and Media Committee is to oversee all aspects of publicity for the MA, to be responsible for the MA website and the use of social media, and to advise Council on all such matters.

Chair: Jo Morgan