New Honorary Members 2022 5 January 2022

New Honorary Members 2022

New Honorary Members 2022

We are delighted to announce that Dr Toni Beardon and Dr David Acheson have accepted Honorary Membership of The Mathematical Association. Honorary Membership is awarded in recognition of outstanding contribution to mathematics or mathematics education and only in exceptional circumstances.

Toni Beardon has been a member of the MA since the mid-1960s and has made outstanding contributions to mathematics education. Over the years Toni has also contributed and supported the Mathematical Association through her contribution of articles in the Mathematical Gazette and Mathematics in School.

Amongst Toni’s achievements include setting up the NRICH Online Mathematics club and other online projects, which now form the Cambridge University Millennium Mathematics Programme, supporting students of all abilities from ages 5 to 19 in developing mathematical skills through enrichment and extension activities beyond the school curriculum. Toni also worked in South Africa to establish the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences School Enrichment Centre (AIMSSEC), now serving the pan-African AIMS network, providing development courses for mathematics teachers, subject advisers and field trainers.


David Acheson has consistently supported the MA throughout sessions at our annual conferences and was President between 2010-11. David has a vast publications record including 1089 and All That: a Journey into Mathematics, The Calculus Story: A Mathematical Adventure and The Wonder Book of Geometry: A Mathematical Story, all of which have helped to popularise mathematics and make the subject more accessible to sixth formers and the general reader.


A full list of the Mathematical Association’s honorary members can be found here: Mathematical Association - Honorary Members (