New Honorary Members in 2017 27 July 2017

New Honorary Members in 2017

New Honorary Members

The MA is pleased to announce that John Conway and Hugh Burkhardt are the latest Honorary Members of the Association.

John Conway came to prominence as a charismatic lecturer at Cambridge, where he worked on group theory, knot theory, game theory, sphere packing and surreal numbers. For the last 30 years he has been at Princeton, in which time he has been described as a ‘cross between Archimedes, Mick Jagger and Salvador Dali’. The inventor of ‘The Game of Life’ and ‘Sprouts’, John continues to contribute to The Mathematical Gazette.

Hugh Burkhardt lectured in mathematical physics at Birmingham, Columbia and Caltech before becoming professor of mathematics education in Nottingham. Here he headed up the Shell Centre and CRME, which have given birth to significant developments in mathematics pedagogy, including the promotion of mathematical modelling in the classroom. In recent years Hugh has received numerous prizes from the international community of mathematics educationalists.