Meet the Trustees

The MA is run by members for members from its headquarters in Leicester and is managed by a Council of around 19 MA members. But the heart of the MA is to be found in its publications, its committees and subcommittees, and its other activities, which provide an invaluable opportunity for interested teachers to work together on topics of common interest - work which often results in publications, resources or discussion documents for the wider community.

Tom Roper - Immediate Past President
Tom taught mathematics in schools and colleges for 17 years, before joining the staff of the School of Education at the University of Leeds. He retired from full-time work at Christmas 2010 having spent the previous 4.5 years as Head of the School. Throughout his career, Tom has given talks on mathematics and led workshops in schools and at masterclasses; he was the first Holgate Lecturer to be appointed by the LMS not to come from a university mathematics department. Tom joined the MA via the Yorkshire Branch in the early 1980's and has been branch secretary and president. Though now fully retired he continues to help with the editorial work on The Mathematical Gazette in between walking and playing as much bowls as possible.

Jennie Golding - MA Secretary
From an Oxford mathematics first degree and research, Jennie spent 35 years teaching maths to 3-93 year olds. She joined the MA and ATM as an undergraduate, and is passionate about developing the potential of the range of young people so that they can enjoy confident and effective engagement with mathematics. Jennie has worked in Primary and Secondary teacher development across the globe, increasingly combining that with teaching in schools, and has also engaged extensively with mathematics education policy, latterly as vice-chair of ACME. She now works in Higher Education, developing mathematics teachers and researching what is needed to do that effectively.

Mike Askew - President
Professor Mike Askew has worked in education for almost 40 years. He has taught at all levels, including teacher professional development, and led research projects and writing throughout the world. Mike believes that mathematical activity can be engaging and enjoyable for all learners and can help them to understand more about themselves and the world.


Peter Ransom - Chair of Council
Peter is a Past President of The Mathematical Association, a freelance mathematics educator and granddad. He has devoted over 30 years to teaching mathematics in state schools from Northumberland to Hampshire. Peter is a member of most mathematical organisations and is often seen doing mathematics masterclasses in period costume. He is keen to raise awareness of the benefit of using history of mathematics and STEM in the mathematics classroom. Currently he is working with the TSST at Southampton University.

Chris Pritchard - Member without Office, Acting Joint Chair of Publications
Recently retired, Chris had taught in London and in two schools in Scotland for nearly four decades, much of that time as a head of department. He is currently Chair of the Scottish Mathematical Council and Secretary of The Mathematical Association. Chris served for 13 years on the MA's Teaching Committee, four of them as Chair. Having a vocational interest in elementary geometry and its teaching and a research specialism in the history of mathematics, he is a regular contributor to conferences and to journals.

David Miles - Treasurer
David Miles is Assistant Headteacher with responsibility for assessment, data and examinations at Sir John Leman High School, Beccles and has taught KS3, GCSE and A Level mathematics and further mathematics for 13 years. He is an A Level examiner and has authored a number of national and international mathematics assessments spanning KS2 to KS5. David is a regular contributor to Mathematics in School.


Julia Brown - Chair of Membership Committee
Julia is a mathematics teacher and Assistant Head Teacher at Wycombe High School, where she is also the lead for the Bucks Berks and Oxon Maths Hub.  In her current role she works with a range of organisations such as the UKMT, FMSP, CMSP and Ri together with other teachers to provide mathematical opportunities for students and teachers across the Bucks, Berks and Oxon region.  She is also a Specialist Leader in Mathematics, an NCETM Secondary PD Lead and supports Heads of Mathematics in reviewing and developing their departments.

Keith Cadman - Chair of Branches Committee
Keith began his career in education teaching mathematics at a school in rural Shropshire. He then taught in several Birmingham schools and served on the committee of the Birmingham MA Branch. Keith worked as a teacher adviser in Wolverhampton Local Authority for a number of years. The post initially involved some teaching in several of the Authority's schools. However the role changed to an advisory one developing specific projects with schools particularly with higher attaining students in both primary and secondary. Since his recent retirement he continues to set questions and run finals for the UKMT Team Maths Challenge. He has been the Youth Activities Officer for several years.  Keith continues to get great enjoyment out of teaching mathematics to children of all ages.


Ray Huntley - Member without Office
Ray is a Lecturer in Mathematics Education at Plymouth University. He has taught in five primary schools in England and one in Australia and became headteacher of Roxwell CE Primary School, in 2000. Ray has also been a lecturer in mathematics education:at four other universities before accepting his current position. Ray has also co-edited the MA's journal Primary Mathematics.

Cherri Moseley - Chair of Conference Committee
Cherri is an independent primary mathematics consultant and writer. She delivers training for schools and Local Authorities as well as working in partnership with a range of providers. Cherri has written a wide variety of mathematics resources for teachers and also advises leading educational publishers. She has visited schools in Hungary and Portugal to explore teaching methods and approaches.

David Pountney - Member without Office
Dave Pountney was subject head of Mathematics at Liverpool John Moores University until his retirement in 2010 and he has taught mathematics to mathematics, engineering and science students for over 35 years. He has been a member of the Liverpool Mathematical Society for many years and represents Liverpool branch at MA Branches committee meetings. He was Chair of Branches in 2010 - 2016.

Bill Richardson - Editor-in-Chief, Acting Joint Chair of Publications, Company Secretary
At the 2017 AGM, Bill entered into his 25th year on Council! During those years he has been President, Editor-in-Chief, Chair of Council, Secretary, and Treasurer. Though retired, he is still active in school level mathematics as well as helping to produce The Mathematical Gazette. He lives near Elgin in Scotland and travels a lot!



Elizabeth Glaister - Member without Office

Gerry Leversha - Member without Office

Cordelia Myers - Member without Office

Rob Smith - Member without Office